Historical Background


In 1924 Burma Agricultural College and Research Institute was founded in Mandalay, the second largest city of Myanmar. It was reorganized as a Constituent College of Yangon University in 1938. In 1947, the college was transformed into the status of Faculty of Agriculture in Mandalay under the administration of Rangoon University and again under Mandalay University in 1958. In 1964 it was upgraded to a separate university known as the “Institute of Agriculture” under the Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education. The Institute was moved from Mandalay to Yezin in 1973. It was transferred to the Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation in 1993 and renamed as “Yezin Agricultural University (YAU)” in 1998.

The agricultural education at the college level in the Union of Myanmar was started on December 22, 1924 with the establishment of the Agricultural College and Research Institute of Mandalay. The college offered a diploma course which was of 3-year duration. The college was closed down during the year 1933 through 1937 due to the Great Depression of the 1930’s.

In 1938, the college became a constituent college of the University of Rangoon. Students who had passed the Intermediate of Science examination of the Rangoon University were admitted to the agricultural course and were conferred B.Sc (Agriculture) degree after two years of study period. The college was closed down in 1942 to 1945 due to the Second World War. After the war, temporary arrangements were made for the second year agricultural students to continue their studies at Mahling Farm for the academic year 1945-46.

In 1947, the college was transformed to the status of Faculty of Agriculture in Mandalay under the administration of the University of Rangoon. The two-year agricultural course was extended to three-year course in 1955 and B.Sc (Sericulture) degree was also awarded in that year.

The Intermediate College of Mandalay became a separate university in 1958 and the Faculty of Agriculture was placed under the University of Mandalay.

The Faculty of Agriculture was upgraded to the separate university known as the Institute (University) of Agriculture. Due to the expansion programme, the Institute (University) was shifted from Mandalay to Yezin in 1973. The Master’s courses were offered in 1978 with the introduction of semester credit system.

The Yezin Agricultural University (YAU) was transferred from the Higher Education Department, Ministry of Education to the Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation on the September 1, 1993. In 1998 Institute of Agriculture was renamed as Yezin Agricultural University. The Ph.D courses were offered in 2001, November. Postgraduate diploma courses were offered in 2006.

The YAU is composed of 17 departments, namely Department of Agronomy, Department of Plant Breeding, Physiology and Ecology, Department of Soil and Water Science, Department of Plant Pathology, Department of Entomology, Department of Horticulture, Department of Agricultural Economics, Department of Animal Sciences, Department of Agricultural Engineering, Department of Agricultural Extension, Department of Agricultural Microbiology, Department of Food Science and Technology, Department of Agricultural Biotechnology, Department of Mathematics, Department of Physics, Department of Myanmar Literature, and Department of English. There are supporting Departments for Education, Research and Extension. Department of Information Technology is one of them.

There are 2495 undergraduate students and 170 postgraduate students in 2017-2018 academic year. Moreover, 200 teaching staffs and 300 supporting staffs are serving at YAU now. There are also 7 outreach campuses at different ecological zones for final year student to study the rural economy and development. Internship program is also offered at the last semester of final yea and students are dispatched to government agricultural departments, NGOs, INGOs, companies, and institutions which are related to agriculture.

Now YAU has been used credit hour saving system since 2017-2018 Academic Year for first year. Courses can be revised to suit current situation. Credit can be transferred or cumulated for his bachelor degree. YAU has been already sought assistance to revise curriculum and syllabus from JICA-TCP. Therefore, under undergraduate first year course, computer skill is one of a compulsory practical course. Moreover online registration, student management software, online assess for literature finding and E-government for communication have been preparing to use. Therefore, nowadays information communication technology (ICT) software programming expert is needed to improve the University development.