top of page
1. Department of Soil and Water Science

The Department of Soil and Water Science (DSWS) is one of the thirteen major departments providing both undergraduate and post graduate studies in YAU. The department was established in 1955-56. The DSWS prepares the graduates as professionals in private and public sector to develop, adopt and disseminate knowledge and technologies that focus on soil-plant-water continuum.

Building upon its foundation of different expertise, the Department of Soil and Water Science (DSWS) initiates heuristic education and shares scientific knowledge for wise use of soil and water resources with the outcome of sustainable soil, plant, water and environment.

The Department of Soil and Water Science has to provide innovative teaching, the state-of-the-art research and extension techniques based on societal needs related to the conservation and management of natural resources linked to plant and soil ecosystems, and future prospective water and environment.

Dr. Kyaw Ngwe


Head of Department

B.Ag., M.Ag., Ph.D.

Dr. Swe Swe Mar


Ph.D (Soil Science) (TUAT, Japan)

Activity Gallery
Hydroponic Vegetable Farm

Contact Us


P.O.Box 150501, Yezin,

Zayarthiri Township,

Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar.


Fax:      +95 67 341 6517

Phone: +95 67 341 6513



Office: +95 67 341 6688

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page